ishooteditnblog

Every picture has a story to tell

For Novice Photographers : 3 Tips for Taking Shots Like a Pro!

Hi all!

Of late, yours truly have been diligently combing the internet,marveling at all the amazing shots taken by many of our fellow photo bloggers.

Consequently, ishooteditnblog have arrived at the conclusion that

http://ishooteditnblog.wordpress.com takes the world’s worst photos as compared to any photo bloggers from any part of the world!

And so, to help this poor photographer who probably still can’t differentiate between Aperture and Shutter mode, I’ve decided to share with him 3 tips that  will enable him to take better photos so as to spare his readers the agony of shutting down the browser whenever they see his shots! :P

Now.without further ado …

Tip #1 – Always take shots related to nature. 

You probably ask why but yours truly feels that Mother nature is so graceful, beautiful and ever forgiving that even if the photographer is incompetent, the image will always turn out fine as the beautiful of the nature is more then enough to cover the photographer’s weakness.

Here’s one example.

Tip #2 – You have a shot that is disappointing? No worries! Change it to Black & White!

Picture this scenario as follows (It happens to me 99% of the time!) :

The day’s all bright and sunny and you have decided to go out and take some photos!

Snap! Snap! Snap!


A good 3 hours later you are satisfied that you have taken at least a number of great shots and … 


To your disbelief you found out that NONE actually makes the cut!! ^^ 

Well, fret not. to salvage the situation (as what I have always do) , you can use any photo editing software and attempt to change the color scheme to B&W. Most of the time, it works, :P


Tip #3  :  All novice photographers best friend – Adobe Photoshop 

Besides using the B&W tip which I have shared in #2, if you are good with photoshop, you can even edit your raw images and bring it to higher levels!  – Thats what I do, 100% of the time! Shhhh! =P

Original shot before photoshop


After photoshop :

There you have it, the first ever tip sharing post shamelessly published by yours truly!

Alright, just like to clarify that the above tips will most likely work for me, so for my dear readers, feel free to have a laugh after reading post to kick start your day!

Cheers!

43 comments on “For Novice Photographers : 3 Tips for Taking Shots Like a Pro!

  1. John
    July 3, 2012

    Your photography is just fine!

  2. paulaacton
    July 3, 2012

    You forgot another one…aswell as black and white try the filters I have a few where as a photo they sucked apply the drawing filter and hey presto it looks cool lol

    • ishooteditnblog
      July 3, 2012

      Hi paulaacton,
      Wow, that’s a good tip! Will bear that in mind, thanks for sharing! =)

  3. Impybat
    July 3, 2012

    I love your photography. And the Picasa filters are my friends who never let me down!

    • ishooteditnblog
      July 3, 2012

      Thanks Impybat!
      Always very happy to hear such encouraging words from you! =)

  4. miranda26woosley
    July 3, 2012

    putting a zoom or blur on it never hurt either. especially if there is something you want to cover up.

    • miranda26woosley
      July 3, 2012

      oh don’t be so hard on yourself, everyone goes through that. Its part of the process, the fun part is when you think that you are the world’s greatest photographer. and thanks for the comment on my blog.

      • ishooteditnblog
        July 3, 2012

        Thanks miranda26woosley!
        Really very encouraged whenever I received great encouragements from the photography community! =)

    • ishooteditnblog
      July 3, 2012

      Hi miranda26woosley!
      Wow, that’s one awesome tip! Guess I learn something new today! =)

  5. sianakdesa
    July 3, 2012

    wow beautiful shot :D that’s good tip!

    • ishooteditnblog
      July 3, 2012

      Hi sianakdesa,
      Thanks for your kind compliments and I’m very glad that my very own version of tips for novice photographers is useful for you! =)

      • sianakdesa
        July 3, 2012

        Your Welcome. :)
        This tips very useful for me. Now, I learn take pictures only use mycamera smartphone 2 Megapixel. One day when I have enough savings. I would buy a DSLR camera. :D

  6. postsfkr
    July 3, 2012

    The 2nd one is so true! Many bad pictures look GREAT when they are black and white!

    • ishooteditnblog
      July 3, 2012

      Hi postsfkr,
      Oh yes. I absolutely have to agree on the 2nd one too. It works for me almost all the time! =)

  7. Lori
    July 3, 2012

    Thanks for the great editing tips! I really need to get Photoshop. :)

    • ishooteditnblog
      July 3, 2012

      Hi Lori!
      LOL. You are welcomed! I so glad that my tips for novice photographers are well received! =D

  8. dalzellphoto
    July 3, 2012

    I’d recommend Lightroom before Photoshop as well, much easier and in my opinion better to use for post processing.

    • ishooteditnblog
      July 4, 2012

      Hi dalzellphoto,
      Great Recommendation! Always nice to share and exchange tips with fellow photographers! =)

  9. Spica
    July 4, 2012

    thanks for the tips :D and i agree with tip #2. It works for me :)

    • ishooteditnblog
      July 4, 2012

      Hi Spica,
      Thanks for visiting and I assure you that tip #2 is my best tip that I have since I took up photography! =)

  10. Bob Othman
    July 4, 2012

    You don’t need Photoshop, your photos are that good already

  11. MD Photography
    July 4, 2012

    Great tips. love the photoshopped one at end! really clever idea.

    • ishooteditnblog
      July 4, 2012

      Thank you so much!
      More to come, as I deploy more photo editing techniques to hid my photographing weakness! =P

  12. Christine Walsh
    July 4, 2012

    I like this post – it makes me feel less like a dummy. Now, this is not an insult against you – just a reflection on how I feel when I take photos. I’ve been taking pics for about three years now and still feel like I don’t know what I’m doing (maybe that would explain all the b&w…see tip #2 above). I don’t know anything about shutter speed, f stops, etc. and yes, I use photoshop, so while you are looking at all those other bloggers taking “fantastic” photos – you may want to skip mine, they certainly are not fantastic – in fact they are probably just mediocre. But, I do appreciate your liking any of my shots, and hope you continue to visit.

    • ishooteditnblog
      July 4, 2012

      Hi Christine Walsh,
      Thank you so much for visiting my humble blog and taking some time off to comment.
      Pls, let me assure you that you take great shots too! Love all your images -They are way better then mine! =)

  13. Elydia
    July 5, 2012

    I wonder if Photoshop is better than Lightroom? I saw someone say it isn’t. To be honest, Photoshop scares me and looks so complicated. I would like to live my photography life/career without it haha.

    • ishooteditnblog
      July 5, 2012

      Hi Elydia,
      To be honest, I don’t know too! I would say Photoshop offers quite a bit of functions and features – The same could be said for Light room too!
      I would love to do a comparison of between the 2 image editing softwares once I have the chance =)

      • Elydia
        July 6, 2012

        I would too. Guess that’s all part of learning photography:). Right now I use Light Room and don’t even want to try PS for fear of TOO MUCH info haha.

  14. Chloe
    July 5, 2012

    there’s nothing wrong with your photography, it’s beautiful!! i think we are always our own biggest critics

    • ishooteditnblog
      July 5, 2012

      Thanks Chloe!
      I have to agree with you that we are often our own biggest critics – perhaps that’s how one improves! ^^
      Thanks for visiting again and it’s always lovely to hear assuring words from fellow photographers! =)

  15. wifemothereventplanner
    July 5, 2012

    Thanks for stopping by my little blog – if you hadn’t I would never have found your cool pics! Great site!

    • ishooteditnblog
      July 5, 2012

      Hi wifemothereventplanner,
      Thanks for swinging by and I’ve got to say you’ve got a great blog! =)

      • wifemothereventplanner
        July 5, 2012

        thanks man. I’m pretty green but having a blast. I’ll be tuning into your stuff regularly!

  16. Rachael
    July 5, 2012

    This made me laugh. You are way too hard on yourself. That top shot in particular is a sure winner.

    • ishooteditnblog
      July 5, 2012

      Hi Rachael!
      Ha! Well, the other aim of mine is to hope that readers will have a little good laugh after reading my posts so that they can have a good start for their day! lol
      I’m be delighted if you say my post made your day. =P

  17. ladyfi
    July 5, 2012

    That first shot is fabulous. I don’t use Photoshop but seem to do OK anyway.

    • ishooteditnblog
      July 5, 2012

      Hi ladyfi!
      Thanks for your lovely comment!
      I personally feel that your images do not need much editing as they are very beautiful as it is already! =)

  18. Margie
    July 6, 2012

    I like the effect in Tip 3 – very artsy!
    I use Adobe Photoshop Elements – cheaper and a bit easier for me to use.

    • ishooteditnblog
      July 6, 2012

      Hi Margie!
      Glad you like tip 3!
      Well it seems that I should give Adobe Photoshop Elements, a try too! =)

  19. jinny924
    July 6, 2012

    haha, i like your tips~

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 3, 2012 by in Photography - Outdoor and tagged , , , , , , .

Navigation

On my mind now ..

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 415 other followers

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 415 other followers

